Welcome All Book Lovers

Welcome All Book Lovers

Thursday, May 7, 2015

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down! @ goodreads



Read from May 05 to 07, 2015

I had a love/hate relationship with this book. I loved it so much in the beginning, then I felt a little off with it for a bit, but the end took me right back to loving it.

I think this is a very unique take on Beauty and the Beast. I loved Tamlin, he is a wonderful beast! There were times that Feyre got on my last nerves and I wanted to smack her, but it happens. She did great over all.

I loved some of the characters in the book. There is Lucien, who I hope to learn more about in the next book. Alis, who is Feyre's sort of maiden when she comes to the manor. And I actually liked Rhysand in the end. He's a bad guy of sorts but I won't give that spoiler away.

I loved the scenery I pictured in the book from the descriptions. It seems like a beautiful place to live, or is it? There is all sorts of bad stuff going on, bad monsters, curses, killings, you know, the normal stuff!

I'm not sure where the next book is going to take us, but there was something a little weird happen at the end and I'm hoping that is explained.

I think Sarah J. Maas fans will like this book, but if your look for another Throne of Glass type book, this is NOT it. This is a fairy-tale with some bad stuff involved. So just be aware of something different and nice.

4 Stars

No comments:

Post a Comment