Welcome All Book Lovers

Welcome All Book Lovers

Tuesday, August 23, 2016

Places No One Knows by Brenna Yovanoff

For fans of Lauren Oliver and E. Lockhart, here is a dreamy love story set in the dark halls of contemporary high school, from New York Times bestselling author Brenna Yovanoff.

Waverly Camdenmar spends her nights running until she can’t even think. Then the sun comes up, life goes on, and Waverly goes back to her perfectly hateful best friend, her perfectly dull classes, and the tiny, nagging suspicion that there’s more to life than student council and GPAs.

Marshall Holt is a loser. He drinks on school nights and gets stoned in the park. He is at risk of not graduating, he does not care, he is no one. He is not even close to being in Waverly’s world.

But then one night Waverly falls asleep and dreams herself into Marshall’s bedroom—and when the sun comes up, nothing in her life can ever be the same. In Waverly’s dreams, the rules have changed. But in her days, she’ll have to decide if it’s worth losing everything for a boy who barely exists. @goodreads 



I was hoping to love this book since it's gotten so many rave reviews but I just thought it was okay. I'm not even really sure why. I loved Waverly. She had problems following the crowd, mainly her best friend (that she hated) Maribeth. The fact that Waverly finally grew up in the book was great. But, I still don't know why I didn't love it to death.


Waverly has insomnia and she barely sleeps if at all. She runs on the team at school, she runs at night, she does everything but nothing really helps. I mean the running does help a little by keeping her somewhat sane. She does great in school. She decides to befriend a girl named Autumn that goes out for the cross country team as well. She's what I was thinking as punk rock from the description but Waverly changed all of that around for her and got her in with their little group. But, Autumn doesn't put up with good ole Maribeth and helps to slowly talk Waverly into being her own person and speaking up for herself. I really loved Autumn's character.

Then you have Marshall who is a really smart guy but because of bad stuff at home and a brother that really does seem to be a loser, he is seen as a loser himself. I mean he drinks all of the time and he is failing school. But he doesn't have to do this, he's really smart and he likes Waverly who he thinks is way out of his league.

One night Waverly lights a candle, goes into relax mode and ends up in Marshall's room. Well, she may not have been in his room the first night but she turns up where ever he is and it's strange because it's never explained how she does this. Unless it went right over my head and who cares anyway, it was a good idea. They became friends and then a little more. In real life they started to act like they knew each other and they helped one another. And of course they fell in love!

Then End =)





No comments:

Post a Comment