Welcome All Book Lovers

Welcome All Book Lovers

Monday, March 9, 2015

The Unexpected Waltz by Kim Wright

From the author of the critically acclaimed debut "Love in Mid Air" comes this moving novel about a middle-aged widow who finds her feet by embracing a new hobby: ballroom dancing.
Kelly Wilder becomes recently widowed from a much older wealthy man with whom she spent her married life doing charity work, building a lovely home, and, as she says, "pretending to be a whole lot more conservative and stupid and nicer than I really am."
Now, with too much time and money on her hands, Kelly has absolutely no idea what happens next. So on a whim she signs up for a ballroom dancing class, and slowly, step by high-heeled step, begins to rebuild her life with the help of friends old and new: Nik, a young Russian dance teacher who sees the artistic potential she left behind; Carolina, a woman in hospice, anxious to experience a whole lifetime in a few months; and Elyse, Kelly's girlhood best friend who knows all of her past secrets--including the truth about the man who long ago broke Kelly's heart.
In the vein of Jennifer Weiner's novels, "Unexpected Waltz" is a deeply felt story about moving on after loss and finding a new walk--or dance--of life through the power of second chances.



Read from February 27 to 28, 2015

I was lucky enough to win this author give away through one of my goodreads book groups!!

I thought this book sounded good but I didn't realize I would just love it.

I love the characters, well most of them, there are a few jerks in it of course :-)

As it says on the back of book, Kelly is a 52-year-old widow. She had a rich husband that she's not sure she loved at all. He certainly set her up nicely which is a dream in the story itself!!

But Kelly has been laying around the house for a year grieving. She decides to run out and get some food to make for dinner and through some circumstances she ends up in a ballroom dancing studio. She signs up and off we go on a whirlwind of new friends, drama, competitions and life in general.

She has a best friend she has known since they were young. She moved away with her daughter and husband but she is very much still in the picture. They call each other and have dinner together on the phone and just chat about everything. She is sooooo lucky! I would give anything to have a friend from childhood for the rest of my life!!

Kelly also volunteers at hospice. She sits with patients, talks, reads, watches movies, basically whatever they want. This is where she meets Carolina. She is wonderful. She's not in the book too much but when she is, it is all bitter sweet. I don't want to give too much away.

This book has a wonderful cast of characters and is a great novel on the story of life. I love these kinds of stories.

I hope to read more from this author in the future. 5 Stars!

No comments:

Post a Comment